Dr. Meghan Duffy has been named a 2017-18 Public Engagement Fellow by the American Association for the Advancement of Science. According to AAAS, the fellows have demonstrated leadership and excellence in their research careers, as well as an interest in promoting meaningful dialogue between science and society.

Congratulations to Dr. Ellen Arruda, Mechanical Engineering, for being named to the National Academy of Engineering, one of the highest honors bestowed on engineers in the United States. Dr.Arruda researches polymer and tissue mechanics and their application in innovative commercial products.

Drs. Abigail Stewart and Lynn Conway are among the 391 newly elected fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. The scientists and engineers were chosen by their peers "because of their efforts toward advancing science applications that are deemed scientifically or socially distinguished," according to an AAAS statement.

© 2015 ADVANCE Program at the University of Michigan