Dr. Ella Atkins is one of the first recipients of the President's Award for National and State Leadership, which honors individuals who have provided sustained, dedicated and influential leadership and service in major national or state capacities.

Dr. Meghan Duffy is one of the first recipients of the President's Award for Public Impact, which honors individuals who have offered their academic research and expertise in tangible service of a major public-sector challenge.

Dr. Nisha D'Silva has received an $8.1 million grant from the National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research. Dr. D'Silva received the Sustaining Outstanding Achievement in Research award, or SOAR, for her continuing research into the molecular pathways that control the spread and recurrence of head and neck cancer.

The ADVANCE Program at U-M will launch its fourth campuswide survey of tenured instructional, research and clinical track faculty during the first week of October. This year, the data collection effort will be integrated along with the Office of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion's own faculty campuswide survey.

Dr. Jenna Weins, a Michigan Engineering professor has been named to MIT Technology Review’s 2017 list of 35 Innovators Under 35 for using data science to identify hospital patients at risk of contracting an infection they didn’t check in with.

Dr. Joanna Millunchick has been appointed as the associate dean for undergraduate education at Michigan Engineering. Her new appointment will take effect on July 1.

Seven faculty members, including ADVANCE Associate Director Karin Martin, whose service contributes to the development of a culturally and ethnically diverse U-M community, have received the 2017 Harold R. Johnson Diversity Service Award from the Office of the Provost.

College of Engineering and Computer Science Dean Tony England received the Susan B. Anthony Campus Award in recognition of his longstanding commitment to the advancement of women and girls in the fields of science and engineering. Dean England is a former member of the STRIDE Committee.

"Talent is evenly distributed in society, but opportunity is not. Science will have a bigger impact if people from all backgrounds are able to participate," said Meghan Duffy, associate professor of ecology and evolutionary biology. U.S. News & World Report

"Persistent advocacy now by people like me is needed both to reinforce the value of science to all people and to help salvage continuity of scientific progress and careers for the next generation of innovators," said Alice Telesnitsky, professor of microbiology and immunology, who participated in the March for Science in Washington, D.C. The New York Times

Drs. Evelyn Alsultany, Valeria Bertacco, and Deborah Goldberg are among the six faculty members honored with Thurnau professorships. Criteria for Thurnau professorships include a strong commitment to students and to teaching and learning, excellence in teaching, innovations in teaching and learning, a strong commitment to working effectively with a diverse student body, a demonstrable impact on students' intellectual or artistic development, and contributions to undergraduate education beyond the classroom, studio or lab.

Professor Elizabeth Moje has been appointed the dean of the University of Michigan School of Education. She has been interim dean since July 2016, and her appointment runs through June 30, 2022.

© 2015 ADVANCE Program at the University of Michigan